The Award Presentation Ceremony will be held at the Teatr Polski in Warsaw, on
May 23rd 2024. The ceremony will be transmitted live, via the Zbigniew Herbert Foundation social media account.

The Zbigniew Herbert International Literary Award is a distinction on the literary world stage – primarily in the field of poetry. Conferred since 2013, in recognition of outstanding artistic and intellectual achievements, it remains inspired by the values and ideals which Zbigniew Herbert’s work exemplifies. Existing Laureates include W.S. Merwin, Charles Simic, Ryszard Krynicki, Lars Gustafsson, Breyten Breytenbach, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Agi Miszol, Durs Grünbein, Yusef Komunyakaa, Marianna Kijanowska and Tomas Venclova.

This year’s Laureate was chosen by a jury, composed of poets, essayists, translators and publishers: Krystyna Dąbrowska (Poland), Edward Hirsch (USA), Michael Krüger (Germany), Mercedes Monmany (Spain), and Aleš Šteger (Slovenia).

Zbigniew Herbert Foundations Partners include:

The Arnold Szyfman Polish Theatre – (Teatr Polski im Arnolda Szyfmana), Warsaw

The National Library – (Biblioteka Narodowa)

Polish Radio – (Polskie Radio) – Media Partner

Additional Funding for the Zbigniew Herbert International Literary Award 2023 was provided by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland from the Culture Promotion Found.

More information about the Zbigniew Herbert International Literary Award at: oraz

Media Contacts:
Sylwia Olczak, PRIMUM PR, e-mail:; tel. 608 072 086,